Introducing VEPS

New Single & Video ‘Ecstasy’ Out Now

Taken From Forthcoming EP ‘Open The Door’

Out 11th June on Kanine Records

Announced To Play The Great Escape Festival 2021 & By:Larm Festival


Introducing Oslo’s next big exports, VEPS. Poised to take Europe by storm this summer, the band have released their nineties tinged new track ‘Ecstasy’, along with the chaotic homemade and self-directed video. The track is taken from their forthcoming EP Open The Door, out June 11th on Kanine Records.

An ode to a guy, drenched in raw pop hooks and crunching tones, singer and keyboardist Helana Mariero Olasveengen says of ‘Ecstasy’, “The song is about a guy who’s afraid of commitment. A guy who’d rather waste his time on self validation through hooking up with numerous people, rather than exploring his true feelings with a special person.” 

Shot in guitarist and vocalist Laura Dodson’s basement over a weekend, the band don’t lose their DIY sensibilities for the video. “Helena made all the amazing cakes, and the most time consuming thing about the whole process was cleaning ourselves up from all the cake and frosting in our hair. We won’t be having cake for a while…” Watch the video HERE

Recorded at Studio Tjueen Studios in Oslo, Norway, Open The Door was self-produced by the band and mixed by Girl In Red’s producer Matias Tellez. A love letter to their teenage years, the EP is an accomplished collection of songs, far beyond their tender years at just 17. Opening with the beautifully infectious ‘Girl On TV’, the six track EP also features lead single ‘Ecstasy’; hazy ‘Do I Hear A Maybe?’; the anthemic heart-wrenching ‘Oliver’; the spikey ‘Colorblind’ and a step into a more mature sound with nostalgic love song ‘Funny Things’. With a seamless blend of 90’s indie aesthetic and classic pop hooks, VEPS already have their very own, fully formed sound. 

The band will also play a series of shows this year, including The Great Escape Festival (13th-14th May) and Norway’s By:Larm Festival (30th Sept-2nd Oct) with more live dates to be added soon. 

Hailing from the eastside of Norway’s capital, Oslo, VEPS have known each other since elementary school and began playing music together in middle school, aged 14. Although growing up with very different influences, the girls had a common sense as outsiders and while making a short film together decided to make an impromptu band. With Helena, Laura and June already accomplished at their instruments, Maja was assigned as drummer, she had never touched a drum set before, and VEPS was born. Already causing a stir playing a series of DIY shows wherever they could, the band self-released ‘Do I Hear A Maybe? on their own label in 2019, mixed by a man known only as ‘The Professor’. Making stickers with the cover art and giving them away for free, word of mouth created a buzz around the band.

Fast forward to 2021 and the band, equipped with their stunning debut EP, sign to New York label Kanine Records, planting them firmly as one of the most exciting bands in Europe. Watch this space!

‘Open The Door’ Track Listing:

  1. Girl On TV
  2. Do I Hear A Maybe? 
  3. Ecstasy
  4. Oliver
  5. Funny Things
  6. Colorblind

VEPS are Helena Mariero Olasveengen (keys/vocals), June K. Urholt (bass), Laura Dodson (guitar/vocals) & Maja B. Berge (drums)