Lady Blackbird Returns With Brand New Studio Album Slang Spirituals

Out September 13th on BMG

First Single ‘Reborn’ – Out Today

Plays Chaka Khan’s Meltdown Festival @ Southbank Centre
June 20th

Lady Blackbird makes her extremely welcome return with brand new studio album Slang Spirituals, out September 13th on BMG.

Against a thundering backbeat, the first taste of the record arrives with the powerful, contagious anthem in waiting  ‘Reborn’ – which finds Lady Blackbird full of freedom, acceptance and without apology. ‘We die a little to be born again, so I drowned her in flames/ And now she’s been reborn,’ she exclaims, in a track oozing in triumph. Listen here.

Collaborating once again with Black Acid Soul producer Chris Seefried, the pair produce a second album that not only embodies the freewheeling, emotive Lady Blackbird sound, but that also taps into deeply vulnerable lyrics that recount the singer’s challenging ascent to musical stardom.

Growing up in the small town of Farmington, New Mexico, Lady Blackbird was raised in a religious Christian household and began singing as soon as she could walk. “Once I entered my teenage years, I started to realise that religion was something that was put on me and it never felt right,” she says. “As I also began to develop my own identity as a queer woman, I felt judged as an outcast and labelled as a sinner. It was burying who I really was and I needed to find a way out.”

In taking charge of her own life and her own sound, Lady Blackbird walks a new path, making each note on Slang Spirituals a step in a radically different direction. Across 11 tracks Lady Blackbird puts her sweeping, cinematic vocal power to use on everything from the soulful orchestral fanfares of ‘Let Not (Your Heart Be Troubled)’ to the finger-picking folk storytelling of ‘Man On A Boat’, euphoric gospel empowerment of ‘Like A Woman’ and the seven-minute psychedelic soul instrumental of ‘When The Game Is Played On You’.

“I had to dig my way out of a grave to be able to finally breathe and sing about who I really am,” Lady Blackbird says. “This is me, full of freedom, acceptance and without hypocrisy. It’s also something I think a lot of people can relate to – that human quest to find yourself and take back your power, to get to the place of radiating who you are without apology.”

Lady Blackbird’s debut album Black Acid Soul garnered 5* reviews and won unanimous praise across UK media. She’s dazzled the likes of London’s Union Chapel, The Barbican, KOKO, & Shepherds Bush Empire, as well as supported Gregory Porter on his UK tour and won ‘International Artist of the Year’ at the Jazz FM Awards. Without doubt, her appearance on a star studded Graham Norton show had the country captivated and Taylor Swift lost for superlatives, watch HERE.

Lady Blackbird will have her revellers enraptured and empowered when she returns to the UK on June 19th as part of Chaka Khan’s Meltdown Festival at London’s Southbank Centretickets here.

“This is my journey of becoming,” she concludes. “It’s me rewriting the book to show the world who I truly am. From being labelled a sinner to finding my acceptance.”


The Times “A captivating star in the making”
Guardian“Songs and performances that burn deep into you”
Metro“See her before she goes galactic”
NY Times“Enigmatic and arresting”

The Times ★★★★★ | The Guardian ★★★★★ | Mojo ★★★★ | Uncut ★★★★

Slang Spirituals Tracklisting:

  1. Let Not (Your Heart Be Troubled)
  2. Like a Woman
  3. Reborn
  4. Man on a Boat
  5. When the Game Is Played On You
  6. The City
  7. Matter of Time
  8. If I Told You
  9. No One Can Love (Like You Do)
  10. Someday We’ll Be Free
  11. Whatever His Name

To find out more about Lady Blackbird, go to:

Website / Instagram / Facebook / Twitter