‘Office Politics’ The Divine Comedy Release Brand New Album June 7th

Lead Track ‘Queuejumper’ Out Now – 11 Date UK & Ireland Tour Announced For October

Neil Hannon, one of the country’s foremost songwriters, releases a wonderful new Divine Comedy album ‘Office Politics’ on June 7th. It’s the follow-up to the acclaimed top ten 2016 album ‘Foreverland’.

“Office Politics” is a 16 track tour de force full of inventive, timeless music peopled with a typically irreverent cast of characters. “It has synthesizers. And songs about synthesizers,” Neil says. “But don’t panic. It also has guitars, orchestras, accordions, and songs about love and greed.” But ‘Office Politics’ central characters are the machines. Or ‘Infernal Machines’ as one track rages.

“I do try to make normal records,” Neil says with a smile. ”But it always seems to wander off into odd territories.”

And for that we should be thankful.

The Divine Comedy will play the following UK and Ireland headline tour dates. Tickets on sale from 9.00am on Friday 12th April. Ticket links can be found at www.thedivinecomedy.com

October 2019

Sun 6th                       Dublin, Bord Gais Energy Theatre

Mon 7th                       Belfast, Ulster Hall

Tue 8th                        Cork, Opera House

Thu 10th                       Glasgow, Old Fruitmarket

Fri 11th                        Birmingham, O2 Institute

Sat 12th                       Oxford, O2 Academy 1

Mon 14th                     Bristol, O2 Academy

Tue 15th                       Leeds, Metropolitan University (Leeds Beckett University)

Wed 16th                    Brighton, Dome

Thu 17th                       London, Eventim Apollo

Fri 18th                        Manchester, Albert Hall

‘Office Politics’ Tracklisting:

1. Queuejumper

2. Office Politics

3. Norman And Norma

4. Absolutely Obsolete

5. Infernal Machines

6. You’ll Never Work In This Town Again

7. Psychological Evaluation

8. The Synthesiser Service Centre Super Summer Sale

9. The Life and Soul Of The Party

10. A Feather In Your Cap

11. I’m A Stranger Here

12. Dark Days Are Here Again

13. Philip And Steve’s Furniture Removal Company

14. ‘Opportunity’ Knox

15. After The Lord Mayor’s Show

16. When The Working Day Is Done

The album was written, produced and arranged by Neil Hannon and recorded in Ireland and London. Additional guest vocals courtesy of Chris Difford, Cathy Davey & Pete Ruotolo.

Physical & Digital Release Format Info:

  • 16 track ‘Office Politics’ album on 2 x heavyweight 180g vinyl in gatefold packaging.

  • Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl LP. 16 track album on 2 x heavyweight 180g coloured vinyl in gatefold packaging

  • Standard CD. 16 track ‘Office Politics’ album on 1 CD in gatefold packaging with 12 page booklet containing lyrics and credits.

  • Limited Edition Deluxe CD. As per standard CD, with a second CD – ‘Swallows and Amazons – The Original Piano Demos.’ This 15 track album consists of Neil Hannon’s original demos for the stage musical adaptation of ‘Swallows and Amazons.’ The songs from the show have never before been released.

  • Digital. 16 track ‘Office Politics’ album as per Standard CD

  • Deluxe Digital. As per Deluxe CD – 1st Volume is the 16 track ‘Office Politics’ album, 2nd Volume is the 15 track ‘Swallows and Amazons – The Original Piano Demos’