CD and Double Vinyl to be Released Dec 11th
Surprise release features fan favourite single “I Don’t Mind”

Sturgill Simpson’s surprise double bluegrass album, Cuttin’ Grass Vol 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions is out now digitally on High Top Mountain Records via Thirty Tigers/The Orchard. Produced by David Ferguson, the single I Don’t Mind is an unreleased fan favourite. Vinyl and CD as well as a special yellow and green Indie Vinyl release are available to preorder now for release December 11, 2020. Listen HERE.

Simpson returns to the music of his native Kentucky with his first bluegrass project which he calls “a mixtape for the fans.” Dreamed up while he was home recovering from Coronavirus, Simpson reimagines songs from his catalogue backed by some of Nashville’s finest acoustic virtuosos or as he refers to them “bona fide wizards.” “I had it in my mind for a long time that someday I want to cut as many of these songs as possible in this fashion, just organic and stripped down to the raw bones of the composition. If you can’t sit down and play a song like that, it’s probably a pretty shitty song.” 

Tracklist for Cuttin’ Grass Vol 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions:
1. All Around You

2. All The Pretty Colors

3. Breaker’s Roar

4. I Don’t Mind

5. I Wonder

6. Just Let Go

7. Life Ain’t Fair and The World Is Mean
8. A Little Light

9. Life of Sin

10. Long White Line

11. Living The Dream

12. Old King Coal

13. Railroad of Sin

14. Sitting Here Without You
15. Sometimes Wine

16.The Storm

17. Time After All

18. Turtles All The Way Down

19. Voices

20. Water In A Well 

Vocals, Rhythm Guitar: Sturgill Simpson
Mandolin, Vocals: Sierra Hull
Bass: Mike Bub
Fiddle, Vocals: Stuart Duncan
Banjo, Vocals: Scott Vestal
Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar, Vocals: Tim O’Brien
Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar, Vocals: Mark Howard
Percussion, Vocals: Miles Miller
Produced by: David Ferguson
Mixed and Engineered by: David Ferguson & Sean Sullivan 


Since breaking through in 2014 with his Grammy nominated Metamodern Sounds in Country Music album, Sturgill Simpson has established himself as one of the most daring and most acclaimed artists of our time. His music stretches across genres and styles, from the psychedelic soul of 2016’s A Sailor’s Guide To Earth (Grammy nominated for Album of the Year and winner for Best Country Album) to the fuzzed-out rock attack of Sound & Fury in 2019. Simpson debuted in 2013 with his independent release High Top Mountain. Since then, he has challenged musical expectations—from recording with Kesha to touring with Guns n’ Roses—and branched out into the world of film and television. After making his acting debut in the CBS All Access series $1, he has appeared in several movies, including Jim Jarmusch’s The Dead Don’t Die (for which he also wrote and performed the theme song), and had a pivotal role in the award-winning Queen & Slim. The Sound & Fury album was accompanied by a ground-breaking anime film (an interest Simpson picked up during his years in the Navy) on Netflix. Simpson also remains committed to philanthropy, supporting such non-profit organizations as the Special Forces Foundation, The Equity Alliance and MusicCares.