Metric ‘Art of Doubt’ Out Now “Now Or Never Now” Video Out Now

4 UK Dates in November

Metric’s seventh studio LP, Art of Doubt, is out today on MMI/Crystal Math Music; purchase/stream the album HERE. In celebration of the new record, the band is premiering the new video for album track “Now or Never Now,” directed by Lorraine Nicholson; watch/share the video HERE.

“Many music videos take place in night clubs,” notes Nicholson, “very few depict them as they so often are: pensive, dark and depressing.” Metric frontwoman Emily Haines adds, “This was a night shoot leading to dawn, as Lorraine wanted to place the video in those most questionable hours of the morning…I’m profoundly lost and alone with random uncaring strangers…the rest of the band is on an urgent quest to find me and rescue me from this sad existence, but they always arrive too late.”

The band has released two other videos ahead of the LP, watch “Dressed to Suppress” HERE and “Dark Saturday” HERE.

“In general, I found in the writing of these songs that I was positioning myself as being out in the world in solidarity with the people around me, kind of looking left and right and being like, “Wow, are you seeing this? Is it just me or is this all deeply fucked up and disorienting?” But no matter what’s going on internally or externally, there’s that sense of urgency, of energy. We’re still going to go out, we’re still going to socialize, to push ourselves, we’re still going to celebrate. It’s just going to be dark,” Haines explains.

For the first time in the band’s last three albums, guitarist Jimmy Shaw did not co-produce, preferring to turn over the producer mantle to first time collaborator Justin Meldal-Johnsen whose many other musical collaborations include M83, Beck and Nine Inch Nails. The album—which was recorded at Metric’s own Giant Studio in Toronto—was mixed by first time collaborator Tony Hoffer, whose countless credits include Phoenix, Depeche Mode and Air.

“Justin was just what we needed in a producer for this album,” notes Shaw. “He really saw every band member eye to eye and was able to capture what we each do best. It was something I realized I couldn’t do at this stage, having been in the band for so long. We were finally able to focus on just playing again, as we did at the start. Making this album brought us together in a way we hadn’t been for quite some time and I think you can hear it in the music.”

Metric will embark on a 20-date overseas headlining tour beginning in Moscow on October 25. Tickets are on sale via the band’s website. The unstoppable four-piece that spent the lead up to this LP release on an almost 40 date arena tour across North America with the Smashing Pumpkins will announce further North American dates in the coming days via the bands website and social media. Sign up to the Metric email list here to be one of the first to know and get access to exclusive pre-sale tickets and other special offers. Metric play the following UK dates in November as part of their European tour:

Sat 17th   BIRMINGHAM, O2 Institute 2
Sun 18th   GLASGOW, Queen Margaret Union
Mon 19th  MANCHESTER, O2 Ritz
Tues 20th  LONDON, O2 Kentish Town Forum

Art of Doubt Track List:

1. Dark Saturday
2. Love You Back
3. Die Happy
4. Now or Never Now
5. Art of Doubt
6. Underline the Black
7. Dressed to Suppress
8. Risk
9. Seven Rules
10. Holding Out
11. Anticipate
12. No Lights on the Horizon

Metric will launch today a new exclusive merchandise store with limited edition items to celebrate the launch of their new album, Art of Doubt.